Christian//Scientist

Today, I find myself challenged to be more like a scientist.

Perhaps, a research scientist to be exact.

It’s not the crisp white lab coat I envy

or the understanding of mathematical formulae which I can’t even correctly speak out (that triangle symbol thingy is called “delta,” right?),

but their trust.

Often, a research scientist finds immutable satisfaction in bringing light to their cause,

even if the importance of that cause isn’t realized within their lifetime.

Tirelessly, they search for the answers,

even if the multitudes are not yet asking the questions.

A research scientist dedicates their life to being part of a process, knowing that their findings hinge on previous facts that have been mercilessly picked through and will one day be handed down to the next generations of eager minds for more meticulous scrutiny.

In this, they do not lost heart, but courageously press on, realizing that nothing is ever completely in vain.

I want that persistence,

that resilience;

in my faith.

I want to shed light on hearts that have grown uncertain of what life looks like outside of shadows.

I want to seek answers for even the most provocative questions, resting in joy that God is not intimidated by mere doubt.

I want to dedicate my life to being part of a process.

An incredibly bold tent-making missionary once said, “I planted, [my friend] Apollos watered, but God gave the increase. So then neither he who plants is anything, nor he who waters, but God who gives the increase. Now he who plants and he who waters are one, and each one will receive his own reward according to his own labor.

For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s field, you are God’s building. According to the grace of God which was given to me, as a wise master builder I have laid the foundation, and another builds on it. But let each one take heed how he builds on it. For no other foundation can anyone lay than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ.”

I refuse to become discouraged when I don’t tangibly see the fruit of my labor.

And conversely, I commit to rejoice, and deeply, when I do.

I choose to fully dedicate my life to being part of this beautiful process.

Because nothing is ever in vain.

From my heart,

Erika

4 thoughts on “Christian//Scientist

  1. “Because nothing is ever meaningless”

    Yes and amen.

    Your writings keep getting better and better! It’s such a blessing to process your words into my heart. Thank you

    Kadesh

    Like

Leave a Reply

